My Cart


Nightfly Broadcast #5 - 31/07/2020 New Release Highlights

Posted on July 30 2020

A quiet week here at Nightfly Towers but a fairly busy week of new releases so without further ado here are the highlights:

1. Max Richter - Voices (Deutche Grammophon)
The concept is the 'Universal Declaration of Human Rights', the music sublime, been waiting for this one and now it's here. A sobering reminder in challenging times and simply beautiful music from the master, essential.

2. Caribou - 'Never Come Back' Remixes (Floating Points, Four Tet, Morgan Geist)(City Slang)
Caribou calls on top drawer producers to remix this track from his 2020 album 'Suddenly' across 2 x 12" singles with stunning results, what else did you expect?

3. Romare - Home (Ninja Tune)
Yeah love this, melancholic house, right up my street. One to watch I think.

4. V/A - Door To The Cosmos - On The Corner Dancefloor Sampler (On The Corner)
A lovely comp from 'On The Corner' with a diverse selection of artists providing genre busting dance tracks to make you move. 

5. Bobbie Gentry - The Delta Sweete (UMC)
I came late to Bobby Gentry but am fully on side now, funky country for the soul. This re-issue with mono/stereo mixes and extra tracks has been eagerly awaited.

6. CPR - CPR & Just Like Gravity (BMG)
Criminally underrated David Crosby trio albums from the late 90's, early 2000's receive a long overdue re-issue on CD. Croz gives us Steely Dan style production, Joni jazz stylings and angelic vocals, yes, yes and yes.

7. Belle & Sebastian - Push Barman To Open Old Wound (Jeepster)
A re-issue compilation of the early EPs and singles, we have the triple LP clear vinyl. 

8. Creeper - Sex, Death & The Infinite Void (Roadrunner)
UK Goth pop rock band Creeper return with more big choruses and fist pumping splendour. we have the CD and purple vinyl versions

9. Fontaines D.C. - A Hero's Death (Partisan Records)
The five piece band of the moment from Dublin return with more post punk attitude. We have the 'Stormy Blue' vinyl and Deluxe gatefold 2 x black vinyl with photo lyric book versions.

10. Misfits - Walk Among Us (Earache)
The 1982 US punk classic gets a re-issue. 'Punk rock with an affinity for the campy ridiculousness of 50s/60s sci-fi/horror films. It's pure, unadulterated, glorious goof.' I couldn't have said it better myself!

Here is a playlist for these beauts:

Let's also not forget we have another Deptford Northern Soul Club Records 7", this time from 1976, the finest of party disco tunes.

And for the heads, a wonderful 12" from our new favourite label Re:Warm, this one is an EP from 1992 by Daisy Glow, deep house goodness that is timeless.



Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing