My Cart


Jimi Hendrix

Jimi Hendrix - Songs For Groovy Children (The Filmore East Concerts) (Legacy Recordings)


RELEASED: 13th December 2019
8 x 180g Audiophile Vinyl LP Boxset

Format:  8 x 180g Audiophile Vinyl LP Boxset
Cat No:  19075982761

Songs For Groovy Children assembles all four concerts from New Year’s Eve 1969 and New Year’s Day 1970. Presented in their original performance sequence and encompassing 43 tracks across 8 LPs, the set boasts over two dozen tracks that have never before been released commercially. 

The lavish package is filled with unseen photos from talent such as Fillmore East house photographer Amalie Rothschild, Jan Blom (whose iconic, colour saturated images provided the original artwork for 1970’s Band of Gypsys) as well as Marshall Amplifier representative Marc Franklin, who had full access to the group in their dressing room backstage. The booklet features remembrances from bassist Billy Cox and liner notes by author/journalist/filmmaker Nelson George. Songs For Groovy Children was produced by Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer and John McDermott – the trio that has overseen every project for Experience Hendrix since 1995. The box set was mastered by Grammy-winning engineer Bernie Grundman.


12/31/69 1ST SET:
1. Power Of Soul
2. Lover Man
3. Hear My Train A Comin’
4. Changes
5. Izabella
6. Machine Gun
7. Stop
8. Ezy Ryder
9. Bleeding Heart
10. Earth Blues
11. Burning Desire

12/31/69 2ND SET:
1. Auld Lang Syne
2. Who Knows
3. Fire
4. Ezy Ryder*
5. Machine Gun
6. Stone Free
7. Changes*
8. Message To Love*
9. Stop*
10. Foxey Lady

1/1/70 1ST SET:
1. Who Knows
2. Machine Gun+
3. Changes+
4. Power Of Soul
5. Stepping Stone
6. Foxey Lady+
7. Stop%
8. Earth Blues+
9. Burning Desire

1/1/70 2ND SET:
1. Stone Free
2. Power Of Soul#
3. Changes#
4. Message To Love#
5. Machine Gun
6. Lover Man*
7. Steal Away*
8. Earth Blues%

1/1/70 2ND SET:
1. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
2. We Gotta Live Together#
3. Wild Thing%
4. Hey Joe*
5. Purple Haze*

* previously unreleased
+ first time on CD/LP/streaming (previously only available as part of concert film)
# longer, unedited versions of previously released material, and newly remixed