My Cart


Paul Simon

Paul Simon - Graceland (Sony Music / Legacy)


RELEASED: 6th October 2017
180g Vinyl LP

Format:  180g Vinyl LP
Cat No:  88985422401


With Graceland, Paul Simon hit on the idea of combining his always perceptive song-writing with the little-heard mbaqanga music of South Africa, creating a fascinating hybrid that re-enchanted his old audience and earned him a new one. It is true that the South African angle (including its controversial aspect during the apartheid days) was a powerful marketing tool and that the catchy music succeeded in presenting listeners with that magical combination: something they'd never heard before that nevertheless sounded familiar.

As eclectic as any record Simon had made, it also delved into zydeco and conjunto-flavoured rock & roll while marking a surprising new lyrical approach (presaged on some songs on Hearts and Bones); for the most part, Simon abandoned a linear, narrative approach to his words, instead drawing highly poetic ("Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes"), abstract ("The Boy in the Bubble"), and satiric ("I Know What I Know") portraits of modern life, often charged by striking images and turns of phrase torn from the headlines or overheard in contemporary speech. An enormously successful record, Graceland became the standard against which subsequent musical experiments by major artists were measured.


A1 The Boy In The Bubble 
A2 Graceland 
A3 I Know What I Know 
A4 Gumboots 
A5 Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes 
B1 You Can Call Me Al 
B2 Under African Skies 
B3 Homeless 
B4 Crazy Love, Vol. II
B5 That Was Your Mother 
B6 All Around The World Or The Myth Of Fingerprints