My Cart


The Byrds

The Byrds - Dr. Byrds and Mr. Hyde (Music On CD)



Format:  CD
Cat No:  MOCCD13296

'Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde' was the seventh album by the American country-rock band The Byrds and originally released in 1969. The album saw the band juxtaposing simple country rock material with harder-edged psychedelia, giving the album a stylistic split-personality. This album was the first to feature the new band line-up of Clarence White (guitar), Gene Parsons (drums), John York (bass) and founding member Roger McGuinn (guitar).

'Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde' is unique within the band's discography for being the only album on which McGuinn sings the lead vocal on every track. The album was reissued in an expanded form in 1997 with five bonus tracks you'll find here too, including the outtake 'Stanley's Song'. Also included were alternate versions of 'This Wheel's on Fire' and 'Nashville West', as well as the band's cover of 'Lay Lady Lay', which was issued as a single.


1 This Wheel's On Fire
2 Old Blue
3 Your Gentle Way Of Loving Me
4 Child Of The Universe
5 Nashville West
6 Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man
7 King Apathy III
8 Candy
9 Bad Night At The Whiskey
10 Medley: My Back Pages / B.J. Blues / Baby, What You Want Me To Do

Bonus Tracks
11 Stanley's Song
12 Lay Lady Lay (Alternate Version)
13 This Wheel's On Fire (Version One)
14 Medley: My Back Pages / B.J. Blues / Baby, What You Want Me To Do (Alternate Version - Take 1)
15 Nashville West (Alternate Version - Nashville Recording)