My Cart


Various Artists / Soul Jazz Records

Various Artists / Soul Jazz Records Presents - CUBA: Music And Revolution: Culture Clash In Havana (Soul Jazz Records)


RELEASED: 5th November 2021
3 x Vinyl LP

Format:  3 x 180g Vinyl LP
Cat No:  SJRLP496

‘Cuba: Music and Revolution: Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments in Latin Music 1975-85 Vol. 2’ is the new album compiled by Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker (Soul Jazz Records) that takes off in exactly the same vein as the much-acclaimed ‘Vol. 1’, exploring the many styles that came out of Cuba in the 1970s as Latin and Salsa mixed with heavy doses of Jazz, Funk and Disco to create some of the most dancefloor friendly music ever made.

The album comes as a heavyweight 3LP set, complete with extensive sleeve notes, and is jam-packed with heavy basslines, synth and Wah-Wah guitar funk combined with the heavyweight percussion, powerful brass lines and the all-encompassing Latin rhythms of Cuban music known throughout the world.

Much of the music on this album is featured in the deluxe large format book ‘Cuba: Music and Revolution: Original Cover Art of Cuban Music: Record Sleeve Designs of Revolutionary Cuba 1959-90’, released by Soul Jazz Books and also compiled by Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker, featuring the music and record designs of Cuba, made in the 30-year period following the Cuban Revolution.

The music features a host of rarities from legendary Cuban artists such as Los Van Van, alongside Grupo De Experimentación, Farah Maria, Ricardo Eddy Martinez, Juan Pablo Torres, Grupo Sintesis and Orquesta Riverside, most of whose names remain largely unknown outside of Cuba but have long been favourite club tracks and secret weapons in Gilles Peterson’s record boxes.

This album reflects the most cutting-edge of Cuban groups that were recording in Cuba in the 1970s and 1980s - all searching for a new Cuban identity and new musical forms reflecting both the Afro-Cuban cultural heritage of a nation that gave birth to Latin music and its new position as a socialist state. Most of the music featured on this album has never been heard outside of Cuba.


1. Juan Pablo Torres Y Algo Nuevo - Y Que Bien
2. Orquesta Los Van Van - Por Que Lo Haces?
3. Los Latinos - Quemando
4. Farah María - Amame y No Pienses Mas
5. FA 5 - Muevete Con Las Fuerzas Del Corazon
6. Tambores De Enrique Bonne - Como Arrullos De Palma
7. Ricardo Eddy Martinez - Expresso Ritmico
8. Los Papines - Solo De Tumba y Bongo
9. Grupo Sintesis - Aqui Estamos
10. Los Van Van - Llegada
11. Grupo Raices Nuevas - Baila Mi Guaguancó
12. Luis Carbonell - La Rumba
13. Orquesta Riverside - En Casa Del Trompo No Bailes
14. Juan Formel & Los Van Van - Llegue, Llegue
15. Grupo Los Yoyi - Tu No Me Puedes Conquistar
16. Los Papines - Para Que Niegas?
17. Grupo De Experimentación Sonora Del ICAIC - Cuba Va!
18. Raul Gomez - Luces En La Pista
19. Los Brito - El 4-5-6
20. Leo Brouwer - Tema de El Rancheador De La Naturaleza
21. Ricardo Eddy Martinez - La 132
22. Los Reyes 73 - Finalizo Un Amor