My Cart



Chris Bowden

Time Capsule (Soul Jazz Records)


RELEASED: 28th September 2018
Vinyl LP

The stunning and ground-breaking album from the composer and
saxophonist Chris Bowden.

“This is the album that connected it all.” - Gilles Peterson

Chris Bowden’s debut album ‘Time Capsule’ was first released on Soul Jazz
Records in 1992 to widespread critical acclaim. Now 20 years on a new wave
of current jazz artists led by the likes of Kamasi Washington in the USA and
a host of British artists - Shabaka Hutchings / Sons of Kemet, The Ezra
Collective, Moses Boyd, Nubya Garcia, Fourtet, Yussef Kamaal,
Tenderlonious, Binker & Moses - have brought this original ground-breaking
album into the limelight once more as a pivotal starting point, sharing many
of the aesthetics of these current artists at work today.

Musically all are inspired by the spiritual jazz of John Coltrane, Alice
Coltrane, Pharoah Sanders, Archie Shepp, Don Cherry et al paired with a
modern electronic music sensibility. Chris Bowden’s ‘Time Capsule’ has stood
the test of time like few other albums (as the title of the album suggested),
and remains a pivotal, wholly-successful and original experimental musical
collage, a radical inspiration and forbearer to many of the best progressive
jazz and electronic artists working today.


  1. Natural Selection
  2. Mother And Daughters Now Mothers
  3. Forbidden Fruit Epsilon Transmission
  4. Epsilon Love Lies Bleeding
  5. Time Capsule Mind And Matter Retrospective
  6. Solo
  7. Extra Vehicular Activity (EVA)
  8. Life Support Telescopic One Telescopic Two Telescopic Three 
  9. Sane
  10. Angel Falls Mothers Too
  11. Deaf Out