My Cart



Paz - Paz Are Back (BBE)


RELEASED: 10th February 2017
Vinyl LP

Format: Vinyl LP
Cat No:  BBE398ALP

 “A total classic from back in the days!“ – Gilles Peterson

Recorded during the summer of 1980 and originally released in 1982 on Spotlite Records, ‘Paz are Back’ was the second (and arguably the finest) album by the London jazz collective, founded by vibraphonist, composer and arranger Dick Crouch. Known for their original jazz-funk and Latin stylings, the band held a weekly Sunday residency at The Kensington pub in Holland Park for over 8 years, becoming a fixture at many London venues throughout the 70’s and 80’s, most notably Ronnie Scott’s.

Capturing a group of prodigiously talented musicians at the height of their powers, ‘Paz Are Back’ features timeless original compositions from almost all the band members, as well as a unique cover of ‘Everywhere Calypso’ by Sonny Rollins and a truly frenetic, heavily improvised version of jazz standard ‘Dancing In The Dark’. A band who remained steadfastly resistant to being pigeonholed, incorporating a multitude of influences before ‘fusion’ became fashionable, Paz’s music stands the test of time magnificently, as evidenced by the staggering demand for original copies of this album.

Remastered and packaged with the original artwork - the magic of Paz is now available to a new generation of fans!


A1. Laying Eggs
A2. Horrors
A3. A.C./D.C.
A4. Where Is Ron?
B1. Moonchild
B2. I Can’t Remember
B3. Iron Works
B4. The Everywhere Calypso
B5. Dancing In The Dark