My Cart


Billy Preston

Billy Preston - Encouraging Words (Limited Edition Vinyl) (UMC)


RELEASED: 29th October 2021
Limited Edition Vinyl LP

Format:  Limited Edition Vinyl LP
Cat No:  3853026

To celebrate Billy Preston’s induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in October 2021 Apple Records and Universal Music Catalogue will be making Billy’s highly regarded 1970 album ‘Encouraging Words’ available on vinyl for a limited period.

First released in the UK on 11 September 1970 the album was co-produced by Billy and George Harrison, with two of George’s songs – ‘All Things Must Pass’ and ‘My Sweet Lord’ – issued here for the first time, two months before his own recordings appeared on the triple album ‘All Things Must Pass’.In 2010 Record Collector magazine described ‘Encouraging Words’ as “one of the finest titles in the Apple Records catalogue”, while virtuoso keyboard player Rick Wakeman told BBC Radio 4’s John Wilson he considered Preston’s two Apple albums “absolute gems – a perfect combination of gospel and funk.”

The album was last released on vinyl in 1992. The original album credits did not include details of contributing musicians, though the sleeve notes of the 2010 CD reissue included Eric Clapton, Klaus Voormann, Ringo Starr, Bobby Keys and the Edwin Hawkins Singers.


1. Right Now 
2. Little Girl 
3. Use What You've Got 
4. My Sweet Lord 
5. Let The Music Play 
6. The Same Thing Again 
7. I've Got A Feeling 
8. Sing One For The Lord 
9. When You Are Mine 
10. I Don't Want You To Pretend 
11. Encouraging Words 
12. All Things Must Pass 
13. You've Been Acting Strange