My Cart



Automatic (Heavenly Recordings)


RELEASED: 25th September 2020
Vinyl LP

Format: Vinyl LP

When Mildlife’s debut album, ‘Phase’, was released in 2018 it didn’t so much explode on to the scene as ooze. Their mellifluous mix of jazz, krautrock and, perhaps more
pertinently, demon grooves, was the word of mouth sensation of that year among open-minded DJs and diggers searching for the perfect beat.

With ‘Automatic’, the band have made a step-change from their debut. It’s more disciplined, directional and more danceable. As on ‘Phase’, they are unafraid to let a track
luxuriate in length without ever succumbing to selfindulgence. The arrangements, tightly structured thanks to Tom Shanahan (bass) and Jim Rindfleish’s fatback drumming, permit space for the others to add spice to the stew, topped off with Kevin McDowell’s ethereal vocals as Mildlife effortlessly glide between live performance and
studio songwriting.

  • “This is very pleasing” - Justin Robertson
  • “Love them all!” - Prins Thomas
  • "Great sound” - Severino (Horse Meat Disco)
  • “Special!” - Rob da Bank
  • “Heavenly rock” - Don Letts (6 Music)


  1. Rare Air
  2. Vapour
  3. Downstream
  4. Citations
  5. Memory Palace
  6. Automatic