My Cart



Gruff Rhys

Babelsberg (Rough Trade Records)


RELEASED: 8th June 2018
Vinyl LP

‘Babelsberg’ is the fifth album by Gruff Rhys, his first for Rough Trade since 2007’s classic ‘Candylion’.

The album’s ten tracks were initially recorded in early 2016 in a whirlwind three day session that took place before producer Ali Chant’s studio was demolished. The band he gathered for the record were his regular drummer Kliph Scurlock (ex-Flaming Lips) and multiinstrumentalists Stephen Black (Sweet Baboo) and Osian Gwynedd.

The ten tracks then hibernated for eighteen months, awaiting orchestral scores by Swansea based composer Stephen McNeff and the incredible work of the 72 piece BBC National Orchestra of Wales. The result is Gruff’s best record to date - a ten song gazetteer of modern times, each track set to timeless, indelible melody.
Amazingly, for a collection of songs written over two years ago, each one seems to pull very sharp focus on the times we’re living in. 

Over the course of ‘Babelsberg’s forty something minutes, Gruff manages to perfectly document our troubled and troubling times with humour, grace and always addictive melody. In a career that’s spanned three decades, two languages, multiple bands, offshoots, collaborations and one boundless imagination, ‘Babelsberg’ is arguably Gruff’s finest set of songs to date.


  1. Frontier Man
  2. The Club
  3. Oh Dear!
  4. Limited Edition Heart
  5. Take That Call
  6. Drones In The City
  7. Negative Vibes
  8. Same Old Song
  9. Architecture Of Amnesia
  10. Selfies In The Sunset