My Cart



John Grant

Love Is Magic (Bella Union)


RELEASED: 12th October 2018
Deluxe vinyl 2LP (140 gram clear vinyl+booklets+DL)

Exactly three years since the release of his last solo LP, John Grant returns with his new album ’Love Is Magic’ via Bella Union.

“Each record I make is more of an amalgamation of who I am,” says John Grant. “The more I do this, the more I trust myself, and the closer I get to making
what I imagine in my head”.

Even when the Michigan-born man released his debut solo album ’Queen Of Denmark’ in 2010, Grant laced sumptuous soft-rock ballads with an array of spacey,
wistful synthesizer sounds, increasingly adding taut, fizzing sequencers, nu-synth-disco settings and icy soundscapes to the mix on 2013’s ’Pale Green
Ghosts’ and 2015’s ’Grey Tickles, Black Pressure’.

Now, with his fourth solo album ’Love Is Magic’, Grant continues to evolve, creating his most electronic record yet, in collaboration with Benge (Ben Edwards),
analogue synth expert/collector and a member of electronic trio Wrangler, Grant’s collaborators earlier this year under the collective name of Creep Show on
the album ’Mr Dynamite’.


  1. Metamorphosis
  2. Love Is Magic
  3. Tempest
  4. Preppy Boy
  5. Smug Cunt
  6. He’s Got His Mother’s
  7. Hips
  8. Diet Gum
  9. Is He Strange
  10. The Common Snipe
  11. Touch And Go