My Cart



Sugar Minott

Sugar Minott At Studio One (Soul Jazz Records)


RELEASED: 30th October 2018
Double Vinyl LP

Long out of print re-release of this classic Sugar Minott album on Soul Jazz Records, bringing together the best of his classic material recorded at Studio One in the 1970s.

Sugar Minott began his career at Studio One. After auditioning in front of
Clement ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd in the early 1970s, he became the first artist to
record new songs over classic rhythms, singing over original Studio One tapes -
the significance of which led directly to the birth of dancehall, as Channel One,
Joe Gibbs and hundreds of other Jamaican producers quickly began releasing
their own material based on these same classic Studio One rhythms replayed by
Sly and Robbie, The Aggrovators, Soul Syndicate, Roots Radics and many

This album includes classic cuts as well as super-rare singles only recordings, all of which have been digitally re-mastered for this release


  1. Vanity
  2. Please Be True
  3. Hang On Natty
  4. Never Give Up
  5. Jahovia
  6. Give A Hand
  7. Try Love
  8. Roof Over My Head
  9. Jah Jah Lead Us
  10. Is It True
  11. Love Gonna Pack Up
  12. Give Me Jah Jah
  13. Jah Jah Children
  14. Party Time
  15. Change Your Ways
  16. Come On Home
  17. Jah Almight