My Cart



Bettye Lavette

The 1972 Muscle Shoals Sessions (Run Out Groove Vinyl)


RELEASED: 26th October 2018
Vinyl LP

Bettye Lavette—born Betty Jo Haskins, from Detroit, Michigan—is easily one of the most important yet sometimes overlooked soul singer/songwriter of all time. She made her first record at the age of 16 in 1962 when she was signed by local Detroit record producer Johnnie Mae Matthews and recorded the single “My Man—He’s A Lovin’ Man,” which became a Top Ten R&B hit after Atlantic Records bought distribution rights.

In 1972, Bettye signed with Atlantic/Atco and was sent to the famed Muscle Shoals Sound Studios in Alabama to record a full length album. Produced by Brad Shapiro and featuring the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section, the album was supposed to originally be titled as Child of the Seventies but Atco chose to shelve the project at the time. Years later, after Bettye played her own personal recordings of the sessions for French soul music collector, Gilles Petard, he chased down the master recordings at Atlantic Records where they were thought to have been destroyed in a fire. In 1999 after obtaining the masters, he licensed the material and released it on CD in 2000 as Souvenirs through his Art and Soul label (Rhino Handmade would later reissue Child of the Seventies on CD with previously unreleased 1973 tracks). The album helped to spark renewed interest in Lavette and in 2003, A Woman Like Me, was released and won the 2004 W.C Handy Award for “Comeback Blues Album of the Year.”

* Most of these tracks are making their debut on vinyl.
* Includes 2 bonus singles. 

  1. It Ain’t Easy 
  2. If I Can’t Be Your Woman 
  3. Fortune Teller 
  4. Your Time To Cry 
  5. Soul Tambourine 
  6. All The Black and White Children 
  7. Our Own Love Song 
  8. Ain’t Nothing Gonna Change Me 
  9. Outside Woman
  10. The Stealer 
  11. My Love Is Showing 
  12. Souvenirs 
  13. Heart of Gold (bonus single) 
  14. You’ll Wake Up Wiser 
(bonus single) Showing, Souvenirs, Heart of Gold (bonus single), You’ll Wake Up Wiser (bonus single)