My Cart


The Smile

The Smile - A Light For Attracting Attention (Yellow Coloured Vinyl) (XL Recordings)


RELEASED: 23rd June 2022
Indies Only 2 x Yellow Coloured Vinyl LP

Format:  Indies Only 2 x Yellow Coloured Vinyl LP
Cat No:  XL1196LPE

The highly anticipated debut album from The Smile on XL Recordings. The 13-track album was produced and mixed by Nigel Godrich and mastered by Bob Ludwig. Tracks feature strings by the London Contemporary Orchestra and a full brass section of contemporary UK jazz players including Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Robert Stillman and Jason Yarde.

The band, comprising Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner, have previously released the singles ‘You Will Never Work In Television Again’, ‘The Smoke’ and ‘Skrting On The Surface’ to critical acclaim. The Smile’s ‘Pana-vision’ appeared in the finale of ‘Peaky Blinders’.

The single ‘Free In The Knowledge’ was first performed by Thom Yorke as part of the Letters Live event at London’s Royal Albert Hall, in December 2021, the first time Thom had performed since the pandemic began. Introducing the song, he dedicated it to all fellow UK musicians.

Artwork by Stanley Donwood and Thom Yorke.
Yellow double vinyl with printed inner bags containing lyrics,  available to independent retailers only


1. The Same
2. The Opposite
3. You Will Never Work In Television Again
4. Pana-vision
5. The Smoke
6. Speech Bubbles
7. Thin Thing
8. Open the Floodgates
9. Free in the Knowledge
10. A Hairdryer
11. Waving a White Flag
12. We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings
13. Skrting on the Surface