My Cart



C'est La Vie (Dead Oceans)


RELEASED: 5th October 2018
Indies Only Coloured Vinyl

First new Phosphorescent album in 5 years. 

Matthew Houck’s most grand and varied album to date. This record will
delight old Phosphorescent fans but find a brand new audience for his
unique take on wild Americana.

Recorded in Nashville at Matthew Houck’s own Spirit Sounds Studio, ‘C’est
La Vie’ reveals a crystallization of what made ‘Muchacho’ such a breakout - a
little sweetness and a little menace, sometimes boot-stomping and
sometimes meditative.

A lot of life was lived between these records: Houck became a father
(twice), built his studio, escaped New York. And ‘C’est La Vie’ does have a
hefty, career-spanning feel. There’s a newfound wisdom too, however, a
deeper well for all that livin’. 

The magic of Matthew Houck’s music has always been the way he weaves
shimmering, almost golden-sounding threads through elemental, salt-of-theearth
sounds. It’s not experimental exactly but it’s singular and it’s definitely
not traditional. That knack, the through-line across the Phosphorescent
catalogue, is front and centre here.


  1. Black Moon / Silver Waves
  2. C'est La Vie No.2
  3. New Birth In New England
  4. There From Here
  5. Around The Horn
  6. Christmas Down Under
  7. My Beautiful Boy
  8. These Rocks
  9. Black Waves / Silver Moon