My Cart




Come On Pilgrim... It's Surfer Rosa (4AD)


RELEASED: 28th September 2018
3 x Gold Vinyl LP

30th Anniversary Edition of Pixies’ debut releases, ‘Come On Pilgrim’ and
‘Surfer Rosa’, also includes bonus 1986 Radio Concert ‘Live From The Fallout

It’s been thirty years since the release of ‘Surfer Rosa’ – a record made up
of rage, religion, gore, incest and superheroes named Tony – a debut album
so good that it’s now seen as a masterpiece. A year prior came ‘Come On
Pilgrim’, an eight-track mini-album released in 1987 which contained cuts
culled from their first ever studio session, where they famously recorded
seventeen tracks in just three days.

These formative records showed the Pixies to be an alien breed; four
oddball outsiders from Boston blending US underground thrash rock, indie
surf pop and Spanish-language flamenco with the Biblical mythology of
Frances’s childhood. They would go on to record another masterpiece in
1989’s ‘Doolittle’ but it’s the gruesome glory of ‘Surfer Rosa’, and the ruined
sexuality of its cover image (a topless flamenco dancer in a crumbling
Mexican bar) that set a fresh blueprint for an indie rock dynamism that not
only planted the seeds of grunge (Kurt Cobain would admit that he was
trying to imitate the record while writing ‘Nevermind’) but of much of the
best rock music made since.

Vaughan Oliver returns as designer – as with all other Pixies sleeves - to
stunningly reinterpret his original artwork thirty years on, delivering a fresh
take while retaining Simon Larbalestier’s iconic photographs as the
centrepiece of his design.


LP1 – ‘Come On Pilgrim’

  1. Caribou
  2. Vamos (Pilgrim)
  3. Isla De Encanta
  4. Ed Is Dead
  5. The Holiday Song
  6. Nimrod's Son
  7. I've Been Tired
  8. Levitate Me

LP2 – ‘Surfer Rosa’

  1. Bone Machine
  2. Break My Body
  3. Something Against You
  4. Broken Face
  5. Gigantic
  6. River Euphrates
  7. Where Is My Mind?
  8. Cactus
  9. Tony's Theme
  10. Oh My Golly!
  11. Vamos (Surfer Rosa)
  12. I'm Amazed
  13. Brick Is Red

LP3 – ‘Live From The Fallout

  1. Shelter'
  2. Holiday Song
  3. I'm Amazed
  4. Rock A My Soul
  5. Isla de Encanta
  6. Caribou
  7. Broken Face
  8. Subbacultcha
  9. Build High
  10. Ed Is Dead
  11. Nimrod's Son
  12. Down To The Well
  13. I've Been Tired
  14. Boom Chicka Boom
  15. Vamos
  16. In Heaven