My Cart


Bobo Jenkins

Bobo Jenkins - Decoration Day Blues (Soul Jam)


RELEASED: 23rd April 2021
CD Deluxe Digipack

Format:  CD Deluxe Digipack
Cat No:  806191

Together with John Lee Hooker and Eddie Kirkland, the magnificent but overlooked
Bobo Jenkins was a pivotal figure in the Detroit blues scene of the ‘50s and ‘60s. An electric blues guitarist, singer and songwriter, Jenkins worked at the Packard Motor Company and on the side, managed a garage, before landing a job at Chrysler, where he worked for 27 years. He wrote most of his great songs while working on the assembly line. He got his rhythms from the machines on the line, and he would state that it was like listening to a band all day.
This collector’s CD release contains those hard-to-find 7” sides Bobo Jenkins made for different imprints like Chess, Fortune, and Boxer. Highlights include the sensational “Democrat Blues,” “10 Below Zero,” and “Bad Luck & Trouble.” In addition, this remastered set also presents other obscure recordings Jenkins cut in Detroit at the peak of his career, some of them on his own record label, Big Star.


1. Democrat Blues
2. Bad Luck & Trouble
3. Decoration Day Blues
4. Baby, Don’t You Want To Go
5. 10 Below Zero
6. Seasick And Water Bound
7. Nothing But Love
8. Tell Me Who
9. Shake ‘em On Down
10. I Love That Woman
11. Cold Hearted Blues
12. You Will Never Understand
13. Tell Me Where You Stayed Last Night
14. Have You Heard The News?
15. If You Were The Only Woman
16. 24 Years
17. Realing & Rocking
18. She Wanna Sell My Monkey
19. Decoration Day Blues [alternate Take]
20.Baby, Don’t You Want To Go [alternate Take]
21. 10 Below Zero [alternate Take]