My Cart



Chris Carter

Chemistry Lessons Vol.1 (Mute)


RELEASED: 30th March 2018
Double LP pressed on coloured vinyl

Seventeen years on from his last solo release, the twentyfive tracks collected on Chris Carter’s ‘Chemistry Lessons Volume One’ were the product of six years spent working on solo material in the Norfolk home studio he shares with Cosey Fanni Tutti.
‘Chemistry Lessons Volume One’ reinforces Carter’s significant role in the development of electronic music - a journey that for Carter started ahead of his work with Throbbing Gristle and continued through Chris & Cosey, Carter Tutti and Carter Tutti Void as well as his own solo and collaborative releases under his own name.
Despite having been worked on over an extended period between various artistic projects in a variety of different moods, situations and circumstances, ‘CCCL Volume 1’s experiments never feel like Carter noodling around aimlessly in his studio-laboratory. Instead there is an inner coherence and a distinctively Chris Carter approach to sound and execution. It’s an endeavour that places ‘CCCL Volume 1’ comfortably alongside everything else that this sonic scientist has been involved in and yet one that showcases a restless, questing creative spirit forever scouting for new ideas.
Double LP pressed on coloured vinyl (sides A & B - Frost Bite, sides C & D Ash Grey) includes digital download code.


  1. Blissters
  2. Tangerines
  3. Nineteen 7
  4. Cernubicua
  5. Pillars of Wah
  6. Modularity
  7. Field Depth
  8. Moon Two
  9. Durlin
  10. Corvus
  11. Tones Map
  12. Dust & Spiders
  13. Gradients
  14. Lab Test
  15. Shildreke
  16. Uysring
  17. Ghosting
  18. Noise Floor
  19. Post Industrial
  20. Rehndim
  21. Roane
  22. Time Curious Glows
  23. Ars Vetus
  24. Hobbs End Inkstain