My Cart


Herbie Nichols

Herbie Nichols - The Prophetic Herbie Nichols Vol. 1 & 2 (Blue Note)


RELEASED: 10th December 2021
Limited Edition Vinyl LP

Format:  Limited Edition Vinyl LP
Cat No:  3829365

Blue Note founder Alfred Lion considered pianist Herbie Nichols to be a composer who was as original and important as Thelonious Monk. Little-known in his time, recognition has grown in recent years for Nichols’ unique compositions like “The Third World,” “2300 Skidoo,” and “Step Tempest” which were presented on The Prophetic Herbie Nichols, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 featuring Al McKibbon on bass and Art Blakey on drums. The two 10” LPs are combined here onto a single 12” LP presented in a gatefold jacket with the Vol. 1 cover on the front, the Vol. 2 cover on the back, and a Francis Wolff photo of Nichols and the liner notes on the inside.


Side A:
1. The Third World 
2. Step Tempest
3. Dance Line 
4. Blue Chopsticks 
5. Double Exposure 
6. Cro-Magnon Nights 

Side B:
1. Amoeba's Dance 
2. Crisp Day 
3. 2300 Skiddoo 
4. It Didn't Happen 
5. Shuffle Montgomery 
6. Brass Rings