My Cart



Various Artists

J-Jazz – Deep Modern Jazz from Japan 1969-1984 (BBE)

Sold Out

RELEASED: 23rd February 2018 (Subject To Change)
Triple Vinyl LP

In the years following the World War Two, Japan developed one of the most insatiable, dynamic and diverse markets for jazz. For a crucial period of little over a decade - from the late 1960s to the early 1980s - Japanese jazz culture progressed at an astonishing rate, producing an extraordinary array of artists, recordings and record labels that created some of the most forward thinking and impressive jazz to be committed to tape. This amazing journey is explored on ‘J Jazz’. This compilation from BBE uncovers some of the most sought after and rare material from this period and pulls together key artists who shaped the postwar modern jazz scene in Japan.


A1. Koichi Matsukaze Trio - Earth Mother
A2. Takeo Moriyama Quartet with Shigeharu Mukai - North Wind*
B1. Tohru Aizawa Quartet - Dead Letter
B2. Eiji Nakayama - Aya’s Samba
C1. Takao Uematsu - White Fire
C2. George Otsuka Quintet - Sea Breeze*
D1. Shintaro Quintet - A Blind Man
D2. Mitsuaki Katayama - Unknown Point
E1. Fumio Karashima - Little Island
E2. Kiyoshi Sugimoto - Long Neal
F1. Takeo Moriyama - Kaze
F2. Terumasa Hino Meets Reggie Workman - Ode to Workman