My Cart


Peggy Lee

Peggy Lee - Black Coffee (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) (Verve)

Sold Out

RELEASED: 19th February 2021
180g Audiophile Vinyl LP (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series)

Format: 180g Audiophile Vinyl LP (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series)
Cat No:  3512089

Black Coffee, Peggy Lee's 1956 album smash for Decca (she left Capitol in 1952 over creative and artistic differences), presents her in an intimate setting with a top-notch jazz quartet in place of her usual studio orchestra. This smaller combination, including trumpeter Pete Candoli and pianist Jimmy Rowles (two of her favorite sidemen), works to perfection, especially on sultry takes on “It Ain’t Necessarily So”, “Gee, Baby Ain’t I Good To You” and the title track. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.


A1. Black Coffee
A2. I've Got You Under My Skin
A3. Easy Living
A4. My Heart Belongs To Daddy
A5. It Ain't Necessarily So
A6. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You
B1. A Woman Alone With The Blues
B2. I Didn't KNow What Time It Was
B3. (Ah, the Apple Trees) When The World Was Young
B4. Love Me Or Leave Me
B5. You're My Thrill
B6. There's A Small Hotel