My Cart



Pixies - Trompe Le Monde (20th Anniversary Coloured Vinyl) (4AD)


RELEASED: 24th September 2021
Limited Edition Marbled Green Vinyl LP

Format:  Limited Edition Marbled Green Vinyl LP
Cat No:  CAD1014LP

For its 30th Anniversary, Pixies’ 1991 album ‘Trompe Le Monde’ is reissued on marbled green vinyl.

‘Trompe Le Monde’ bookended a golden run of landmark records - a mini-album followed by four albums, released in quick succession - that cemented Pixies as one of the best for a generation.

Translated from French to mean ‘fool the world’, ‘Trompe Le Monde’ showed the band still restless to push their sound forward. Recorded between Burbank, Paris and London, with producer Gil Norton again at the controls, their fourth album is arguably their most playful, with Black Francis’s lyrics on UFOs and conspiracy theories keeping things weird while power pop creeps in to amplify the space rock established on predecessor ‘Bossanova’.

Featuring singles ‘Planet of Sound’, ‘Alec Eiffel’, ‘Letter to Memphis’ and a flawless cover of The Jesus and Mary Chain’s ‘Head On’, ‘Trompe Le Monde’ goes full throttle with 15 tracks coming in a quickfire 40-minute salvo. Receiving critical praise at the time and being supported by a huge tour that included playing stadiums with U2, it also proved to be the end of Act One for the band, with them taking over a decade before returning to the stage together.

A brilliant record, ‘Trompe Le Monde’ sounds just as fresh 30 years on, with outlets such as Pitchfork concurring - retrospectively scoring it 9.3, they called it “more aggressive than anything in their catalogue but also more confident. They can handle this now, and they do.”


1. Trompe Le Monde
2. Planet Of Sound
3. Alec Eiffel
4. The Sad Punk
5. Head On
6. U-Mass
7. Palace Of The Brine
8. Letter To Memphis
9. Bird Dream Of The Olympus Mons
10. Space (I Believe In)
11. Subbacultcha
12. Distance Equals Rate Times Time
13. Lovely Day
14. Motorway To Roswell
15. The Navajo Know