My Cart


Johann Johannsson

Johann Johannsson - Retrospective II (Deutsche Grammophon)


RELEASED: 18th September 2020
8 x CD + DVD

Format:  8 x CD + DVD
Cat No:  00289 483 7948

Honouring Icelandic composer and innovator of sound Jóhann Jóhannsson, Deutsche Grammophon celebrates his life and musical legacy with the release of volume two of his sought-after RETROSPECTIVE edition.

The deluxe hardcover book edition will include a comprehensive selection of his multi-award-winning and most influential scores & studio albums including his scores for Denis Villeneuve’s movies Sicario and Arrival. The collection will also feature his original soundtracks for The Theory of Everything, The Mercy, his outstanding DG debut album Orphée, 12 Conversations with Thilo Heinzmann and his remastered early masterwork and milestone recording Englabörn including the corresponding Variations featuring Vikingur Ólafsson, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Ambient-Duo A Winged Victory for a Sullen et al.

The edition will furthermore include previously unreleased tracks two new essays by Wyndham Wallace and John Schaefer, a Bonus-DVD documenting his memorable concert at Funkhaus Berlin in December 2016, and a large number of rare photographs offering deep insights into Jóhann’s biography and music.