My Cart


Matt Berninger

Matt Berninger - Serpentine Prison (Concord / Caroline International)


RELEASED: 16th October 2020
Vinyl LP

Format: Vinyl LP
Cat No: CRE01278

Serpentine Prison is the debut solo album from The National’s lead singer Matt Berninger. Commenced very shortly after the group’s last outing, I Am Easy To Find, it feels like a natural outgrowth of that project, a collection of stately, collegiate indie-rock formed with contributions from his National bandmates, his EL VY companion Matt Sheehy and David Bowie’s guitarist Gail Ann Dorsey, on top of production from Booker T. Jones. 
The album features contributions from a wide array of notable artists, including Matt Barrick (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Andrew Bird, Mike Brewer, Hayden Desser, Scott Devendorf (The National), Gail Ann Dorsey (David Bowie, Lenny Kravitz), Booker T. Jones, Teddy Jones, Brent Knopf (EL VY, Menomena), Ben Lanz (The National, Beirut), Walter Martin (The Walkmen, Jonathan Fire*Eater), Sean O'Brien, Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan), Kyle Resnick (The National, Beirut), Matt Sheehy (EL VY, Lost Lander) and Harrison Whitford (Phoebe Bridgers).


Side A
1. My Eyes Are T-Shirts
2. Distant Axis
3. One More Second
4. Loved So Little
5. Silver Springs

Side B
6. Oh Dearie
7. Take Me Out Of Town
8. Collar Of Your Shirt
9. All For Nothing
10. Serpentine Prison