My Cart


The Black Angels

The Black Angels - Directions To See A Ghost (Coloured Vinyl) (Light In The Attic)


RELEASED: 23rd July 2021
3 x Coloured Vinyl LP

Format:  3 x Coloured Vinyl LP
Cat No:  LITA03311

The Black Angels’ classic sophomore album, originally released on April 15th, 2008.
Housed in a Stoughton tri-fold gatefold jacket this special Triple LP Colour Edition includes:
Record 1 (A/B) Pressed on Opaque Red Marble Wax
Record 2 (C/D) Pressed on Opaque Green Marble Wax
Record 3 (E/F) Pressed on Clear Wax

If you’re familiar with Passover, the band’s 2006 debut, you’ll know that The Black Angels’s music alone is enough to invoke spirits. There’s a name for the band’s sound; they call it ‘hypno-drone ’n roll’. It’s the sound of long nights on peyote, of dreams of a new world order, and of half-invented memories of the seamy side of ’60s psychedelia.

While the Iraq war is still a major influence on the band’s lyrics, there are new forces at work here, including Eugene Zamyatin’s dystopian novel We and in Christian Bland’s words “psychic information from the past and future.” See, The Black Angels really are in contact with ghosts. “Civil War battlefields are prime spots for seeing ghosts,” says Bland. “One time at Kennesaw mountain in Georgia, I was climbing the mountain in the middle of June and it must have been close to 100 degrees, but in this one particular spot it was very cold. The hairs on my neck stood up and I knew something strange was happening. Then the wind whispered something like ‘retreat,’ and I did. I later learned that the spot where I was on the battlefield was known as ‘the dead angle’, the place where the fiercest fighting took place. The confederates ended up retreating from the mountain towards Peachtree Creek.”

Our central theme is that people need to open up their minds and let everything come through, and to learn from past mistakes,” says Christian. “Only then will we understand the reality of this world and progress beyond where we are now as humans. We’ve built upon that theme with Directions to See a Ghost. We want people to study the booklet we are providing with the album in hopes that they will be able to relate each song to something in their life.”


1. You On The Run
2. Doves, Science Killer
3. Mission District
4. 18 Years
5. Deer-Ree-Shee
6. Never/Ever
7. Vikings
8. You In Color
9. The Return
10. Snake In The Grass