My Cart


Various Artists

Various Artists - Shaolin Soul Episode 4 (Import Label)


RELEASED: 23rd July 2021
2 x Vinyl LP + CD

Format:  2 x Vinyl LP +CD
Cat No:  BEC5907113

2LP + CD vinyl edition in 5mm standard sleeve. CD included.

Duke Ellington once said that there are 2 kinds of music: the good one and the bad one. With the compilation series “Shaolin Soul” we are always certain to be on the right side of the line since its 1st episode released in 1998 and which compiled two dozens of tracks sampled by RZA and the Wu-Tang Clan.

Following a second episode in 2001 and a third one in 2014, the famous curator Uncle O is back to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Shaolin Soul series with a fourth episode compiling 22 tracks among the rarest and finest treats of soul music, because “everybody’s talking about the good ol’ days !”.


1. Esther Phillips – That’s All Right With Me – Have a Listen.
2. Al Green – I Wish You Were Here
3. Eddie Kendricks – Intimate Friends
4. Sylvia – Sweet Stuff
5. Betty Wright – Girls Can’t Do What The Guys Do
6. The Ambassadors – Ain’t Got The Love Of One Girl (On My Mind)
7. The Dynamics – Get Myself High
8. Carolyn Sullivan – Dead !
9. Brenton Wood – Trouble
10. The Floaters – Float On
11. Faze-O – Riding High
12. Ernie Hines – Our Generation
13. Jerry Butler – I’m Your Mechanical Man
14. J.J. Johnson – Keep On Movin’ (Vocals by Martha Reeves & The Sweet Things)
15. Monk Higgins & Alex Brown – A Good Man Is Gone (Vocals by Barbara Mason)
16. The East St. Louis Gospelettes – Have Mercy On Me
17. Jean Plum – Here I Go Again
18. The Staple Singers – Let’s Do It Again
19. The Sylvers – Only One Can Win
20. Della Humphrey – Don’t Make The Good Girls Go Bad
21. Freda Payne – I Get High (On Your Memory)
22. Carla Thomas – What The World Needs Now