My Cart


Konkere Beats / Soul Jazz Records Presents

Konkere Beats / Soul Jazz Records Presents - Yoruba! Songs & Rhythms For The Yoruba Gods In Nigeria (Soul Jazz Records)

£9.99 £18.99

RELEASED: 4th May 2018
Double Vinyl LP

Format:  Double Vinyl LP
Cat No:  SJR LP399

Soul Jazz Records’ latest album ‘Yoruba! Songs & Rhythms For The Yoruba Gods In Nigeria’ is newly recorded in Lagos, Nigeria. The album is co-produced by Soul Jazz Records label head Stuart Baker and Laolu Akins (founding member of the legendary 1970s Nigerian Afro-Funk/Rock group Blo)

‘Yoruba!’ features an array of local master drummers led by Olatunji Samson Sotimirin and singers (featuring the lead vocals of Janet Olufanmilayo Abe)  performing heavyweight Afro-rhythms, with talking drums, Bata and Dundun drums and a mass of percussion in these deep spiritual and sacred songs used to honour and worship the traditional and ancient Yoruba gods in Nigeria, West Africa.

The album comes complete with extensive text and photography. 40-page outsize booklet / gatefold double vinyl and inners showing the influence of Yoruba culture throughout the world and the social and historical context for the music contained here.


  1. Homage To Yemoja
  2. Homage To Esu
  3. Sakara Instrumental
  4. Ensemble
  5. Homage To Obatala
  6. Eulogy To Amila
  7. Homage To Sango
  8. Agbe Gbe-Wadele
  9. Eulogy To Ori-Ola
  10. Bata Drums Ensemble
  11. Homage To Osun
  12. Eshere
  13. Dundun Instrumental
  14. Ensemble
  15. Homage To Ogun