My Cart


Eddie Russ

Eddie Russ - Fresh Out (Ltd Edition Coloured Vinyl) (Soul Jazz Records)


Limited Edition Red Vinyl LP

Format:  Limited Edition Red Vinyl LP
Cat No:  SJR LP441

Soul Jazz Records re-release of keyboardist Eddie Russ’s seminal debut deep jazz LP Fresh Out (and the first album ever released on Soul Jazz Records!) in a limited edition COLOURED vinyl 1000 copies worldwide (+ free download code) and new CD edition.

Eddie Russ's Fresh Out was independently released in Detroit in 1974 and has remained a collector's item ever since. Russ was an important figure to emerge from the vibrant underground jazz scene that thrived in Detroit in the early 1970s, existing in the cultural and economic desolation of the city after the departure of Motown in the late 1960s.

This scene included the musical collective Tribe (including members Wendell Harrison, Marcus Belgrave, Phil Ranelin, Harold McKinney and Doug Hammond) and Kenny Cox’s Strata Records. Eddie Russ’s Fresh Out was first released in 1974 on the independent Jazz Masters record label.

As well as including the classic jazz dance cut The Lope Song, Eddie Russ’s Fresh Out featured the debut of the group The Mixed Bag who subsequently recorded for both Tribe and Strata Records. Eddie Russ released two further classic jazz funk albums in the late 1970s, See the Light and Take a Look at Yourself.


1. The Lope Song
2. All But Blind
3. Shamading
4. Hill Where The Lord Hides
5. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life
6. Watergate Blue