My Cart



The James L'Estraunge Orchestra

Eventual Reality

Sold Out

RELEASED: 6th October 2017
Double Vinyl LP

Born in a remote log cabin deep in the Scottish Highlands, Eventual Reality, the debut album from The James L’Estraunge Orchestra melds jazz and electronic music sensibilities with a huge helping of heart and soul. In 2014 seasoned producer and musician Ricky Reid and his partner retreated from the city to embark upon a new life, in his own words “away from the constant, incoherent noise of the world”. As he set up his studio, the clean air and spectacular surroundings began to provoke musical inspiration like never before. Then, like a scene from ‘Field Of Dreams’, a series of talented musicians from his former life visited the cabin for a series of late night jamming and recording sessions, leaving behind them hidden treasures to be discovered and lovingly pieced together by Ricky over the following months. With nostalgia so much a part of the album’s creation, The James L’Estraunge Orchestra can’t help but appear somewhat spectral; after all they are truly the band that never was.

 Making up one half of the Soul Renegades alongside Craig Smith, as well as contributing keys and vocals to both 6th Borough Project LPs, Ricky Reid was a lynchpin of the Edinburgh scene for a little over two decades before escaping to the wilderness. 

Roaming from dramatic, cinematic expanses to intimate and fragile places, ‘Eventual Reality’ is the audible journal of a musician making sense of things, reconciling the past and present from a place of tranquility.

  1. Eventual Reality
  2. Closer
  3. Me & The Bear
  4. We Rise
  5. See You Tonight
  6. Autumn Falls
  7. It’s Happened Before
  8. The Call
  9. Groovin' You*
  10. Closer (Instrumental)*
  11. Closer (Radio Edit)*