My Cart


Freestyle Fellowship

Freestyle Fellowship - Innercity Griots (Be With Records)


RELEASED: 21st January 2022
2 x 140g Vinyl LP

Format:  2 x 140g Vinyl LP
Cat No:  BEWITH101LP

Innercity Griots, the second album from Freestyle Fellowship, is perhaps *the* essential West Coast leftfield rap album of the early ’90s. Released in 1993 on 4th & Broadway, it’s a towering, progressive hip-hop masterpiece that expanded rap’s boundaries through lyrical elevation and production innovation. Their talent was ahead of everybody else by light years. This is pure b-boy jazz.

This double vinyl reissue includes “Pure Thought” bonus track from the original CD version, original picture sleeve and printed inner sleeves based on the original one.

The original single vinyl LP is now hideously scarce, and of course the sound suffers from not being officially released as a double. This Be With re-issue fixes both problems, and for completeness also includes “Pure Thought” from the CD version of the album. This incredible display of imaginative hip-hop sounds better than ever.

Remastered by Simon Francis for double vinyl and cut by Pete Norman, this long-overdue re-issue of Innercity Griots satisfies the legions of fans that have since been bewitched by the majesty of this record. It should also introduce some new listeners to yet another overlooked classic.


A1. Blood
A2. Bullies Of The Block
A3. Everything's Everything
A4. Shammy's
A5. Heat Mizer
B1. Six Tray
B2. Danger
B3. Inner City Boundaries
B4. Bomb Zombies
C1. Cornbread
C2. Way Cool
C3. Hot Potato
C4. Mary
C5. Park Bench People
D1. Heavyweights
D2. Tolerate 
D3. Respect Due
D4. Pure Thought