My Cart


Judas Priest

Judas Priest - British Steel (Columbia)


RELEASED: 17th November 2017
180g Vinyl LP

Format:  180g Vinyl LP
Cat No:  88985390951

The sixth studio album by the English heavy metal band, originally released in April 1980. 

British Steel was recorded in December 1979 at Tittenhurst Park, home of former Beatle Ringo Starr, after a false start at Startling Studios, also located on the grounds of Tittenhurst Park, due to the band preferring Starr’s house to the recording studio itself. Digital sampling was not yet widely available at the time of recording, so the band used analog recording of smashing milk bottles to be included in Breaking the Law, as well as various sounds in Metal Gods produced by billiard cues and trays of cutlery. It is the first Judas Priest album to feature drummer Dave Holland, and it was released in the UK at a discount price of £3.99, with the advertisements in the music press bearing the legend ‘British Steal’.


Side One
1. Rapid Fire
2. Metal Gods
3. Breaking the Law
4. Grinder
5. United

Side Two
1. You Don't Have to Be Old to Be Wise
2. Living After Midnight
3. The Rage
4. Steeler