My Cart


Kev Brown

Kev Brown - Homework (Limited Edition Red Vinyl) (Redefinition Records)


RELEASED: 3rd August 2018
Limited Edition Red Vinyl LP + Bonus 7" Single

Format:  Limited Edition Red Vinyl LP + Bonus 7" Single
Cat No:  RDF134

The DMV's own, Kev Brown has announced his first solo rap album since 2005. Hailing from Palmer Park in Landover, Maryland specifically, after a 13 year hiatus, the producer/MC has finally prepared the sophomore sequel to 2005's influential cult classic, "I Do What I Do.” Entitled, "Homework", KB and Redefinition Recs have partnered to release an LP the game has been missing for too long. Now 13 years is a long wait, but don't think Kev has been idle in obscurity. He has been involved with several collaborative projects, garnered tons of production credits and released over a half dozen beat tapes during that time frame. It is also important to note, that he was in no rush to drop another rap album and preferred to compose "Homework" organically and at his own pace, in the comforts of his own home; hence the title.

Kev raps confidently and wisely throughout the album's 27 tracks. Lyrically it's personal, introspective, comedic, observatory and witty delivered in Kev's smooth baritone style. Vocals are equally complimented by instrumentals all produced by the man himself and fluidly morph into instrumental compositions too good to be considered interludes.

These days Kev produces on whatever he feels like. The album was composed using several different samplers and recording technologies, but the vibe is never compromised. Returning to his roots, this a very "Hip Hop" album. The drums are are hard, the recordings are unpolished, samples are obscure, manipulated and unrefined.

"Homework" is the perfect game plan for today's climate. And for those who haven't, do your homework on this man. You won't be disappointed.


A1. Introduction
A2. Still Triumphant
A3. Back Home
A4. Walkin' Thru Metro
A5. Headlining
A6. Tell Me About The Stuff
A7. Blueprint From The Masters
A8. We're Artistsss
A9. Non Destructive Chop
A10. Legato
A11. Look At The Way The World Move
A12. No Gimmicks
A13. Homework Part One
A14. Homework Part Two
B1. Put In A Lot Of Time
B2. Continue On
B3. The Buttery Hotness
B4. Superman III
B5. Gittin' Down 2 Bizness
B6. Everything You Need To Win
B7. Feelin'
B8. Like Dat
B9. Passion / Energy / Heart
B10. Change Takes Place
B11. Voltron
B12. Waiting For You
B13. I Know This Style
C. Under-Rated
D. Real Life