My Cart



Mew - Visuals (Limited Edition) (PIAS Recordings)


RELEASED: 28th April 2017
Limited Edition 180g Vinyl LP

Format:  Limited Edition180g Vinyl LP
Cat No:  PIASR940LPS

"Indies only" 180 gram LP with 3D sleeve artwork, 3D glasses and a download code, packaged in a gatefold sleeve.

Mew release their seventh album "Visuals" through Play It Again Sam. Unlike previous albums, Visuals arrived fairly quickly on the back of 2015’s + - album and came to fruition as front-man Jonas Bjerre explains; “the live shows around that album saw us hit a creative peak, writing tracks on-the-road and the spark was lit. Breaking the normal cycle felt right and we wanted to make an album spontaneously retaining the energy we’d generated on that world tour, rather than wait the normal three or four years.”

Recorded and self-produced in Copenhagen, Visuals was completed in under a year and sees Mew at their most concise, each song representing its own little chapter and narrative. The first taste of the album comes in the shape of the mesmerising intricacies of the album’s finale Carry Me To Safety. Meanwhile, the slow-build euphoria of album opener, Nothingness And No Regrets, and expansive 80’s-style pop of The Wake Of Your Life countered by the discordant stomp of the intriguingly titled Candy Pieces All Smeared Out and blissful glide of In A Better Place, compete across eleven tracks that convey an irrepressible ebullience of a band on their debut album. Twenty years into their career, Visuals is the distinctive sound of Mew seizing the moment…


A1. Nothingness And No Regrets 
A2. The Wake Of Your Life 
A3. Candy Pieces All Smeared Out 
A4. In A Better Place 
A5. Ay Ay Ay 
B1. Learn Our Crystals 
B2. Twist Quest 
B3. Shoulders 
B4. 85 Videos 
B5. Zanzibar 
B6. Carry Me To Safety