My Cart



Nightports w/Matthew Bourne

Nightports w/Matthew Bourne (The Leaf Label)

Sold Out

RELEASED: 6th April 2018
Limited edition half-speed mastered vinyl LP

Nightports is based on a simple but unbreakable rule of restriction: only sounds produced by the featured musician can be used. Nothing else. These sounds can be transformed, distorted, translated, reworked, processed and reprocessed, stretched, cut, ordered and reordered without limitation.

 Nightports was established by musician-producers Adam Martin (based in Leeds) and Mark Slater (Hull), and Nightports w/Matthew Bourne is the first of a series of collaborative albums to be released by The Leaf Label. Material for the album was recorded at Bourne’s home outside Keighley, West Yorkshire, and at Besbrode Pianos in Leeds. The recordings coax hitherto unheard sounds from a range of contrasting instruments - decrepit dusty uprights holding their own against the attack and precision of a modern concert grand. The lines between the source material and the manipulations are seamless, delivering an unexpected percussive drive and emotional impact.

The audiophile vinyl edition is half-speed mastered and pressed at Optimal in Germany Packaged in an intricate die-cut sleeve, the vinyl also includes a CD of the album.


A1.  Exit
A2.  Window
A3. White-Shirted
A4. This Trip
A5. Annie
B1.  Over
B2.  Look Me In The Eye
B3.  Fragile Years
B4.  Leave