My Cart


Nina Simone

Nina Simone - Little Girl Blue (2021 Stereo Remaster Coloured Vinyl) (BMG Rights Management (US) LLC)


RELEASED: 17th December 2021
180g Clear Blue Vinyl LP

Format:  180g Clear Blue Vinyl LP
Cat No:  4050538680843

Little Girl Blue (also known as Jazz As Played in an Exclusive Side Street Club) is the debut album by Rock & Roll Hall of Famer Nina Simone. It was originally released by Bethlehem Records in February 1959. At the time, Simone was in her mid-20s and still aspiring to be a classical concert pianist. The album includes the classic tracks “My Baby Just Cares For Me,” “Mood Indigo,” as well as “I Love You, Porgy”.

This brand-new reissue has been justifiably celebrated as a timeless classic. In her essay written specifically for this release, Daphne A. Brooks, author of such acclaimed books as Liner Notes for the Revolution, puts it best when she asserts that Little Girl Blue presents “an astonishingly daring, dazzlingly confident, endlessly adventurous artist with a deep well of formidable instrumentality up her sleeve as well as a wide and robust, rich and varied knowledge of jazz, blues, American songbook, folk and spiritual standards and aesthetics.”

Little Girl Blue’s multi-phased release began with a digital release (on high-definition and standard audio) that coincided with African-American Music Appreciation Month, while the physical release comes out globally on “clear blue” 180-gram vinyl in October (subject to change). Additionally, this reissue boasts a fresh stereo mix done by four-time Grammy winner Michael Graves as well as a vinyl remastering by the renowned Kevin Gray.

Little Girl Blue features two of Simone’s most well-known tracks. Her sensational rendition of “I Love You, Porgy” was a big hit upon release, and was her only song to crack Billboard’s Top 20. Her jaunty performance of “My Baby Just Cares for Me” brought Simone renewed public interest after it was used in a popular 1987 Chanel No. 5 TV commercial.

Pressed on 180-Gram audiophile vinyl. Featuring a brand new stereo mix by four-time Grammy winner Michael Graves as well as vinyl remastering by Kevin Gray. Includes new essay by author of Liner Notes For The Revolution, Daphne A. Brooks.


1. Mood Indigo (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
2. Don't Smoke In Bed (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
3. He Needs Me (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
4. Little Girl Blue (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
5. Love Me Or Leave Me (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
6. My Baby Just Cares For Me (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
7. Good Bait (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
8. Plain Gold Ring (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
9. You'll Never Walk Alone (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
10. I Loves You, Porgy (2021 - Stereo Remaster)
11. Central Park Blues (2021 - Stereo Remaster)