My Cart


Oliver Nelson

Oliver Nelson - The Blues And The Abstract Truth (1961) (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) (Verve Acoustic)


RELEASED: 2nd July 2021
180g Vinyl LP

Format:  180g Vinyl LP
Cat No:  3566914

'Blues And The Abstract Truth' is Oliver Nelson’s triumph. Featuring his all-time classic ‘Stolen Moments’, Nelson assembled one of the most potent modern jazz sextets ever. Lead trumpeter Freddie Hubbard is at his peak of performance, while alto saxophonists Nelson and Eric Dolphy (Nelson doubling on tenor) team to form an unlikely union that was simmered to perfection. Bill Evans (piano), Paul Chambers (bass) and Roy Haynes (drums) can do no wrong as a rhythm section.

Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.


1. Stolen Moments 
2. Hoe Down 
3. Cascades 
4. Yearnin' 
5. Butch And Butch 
6. Teenie's Blues