My Cart


Simone Felice

Simone Felice - The Projector (New York Pro)


RELEASED: 13th April 2018
Vinyl LP

Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat No:  SIFE010LP

Simone Felice, the singer-songwriter / record-producer from deep in the Catskills, releases his new album The Projector via New York Pro. Riding the train down from the Catskills to New York City’s slam-poetry scene in 1998, a callow “tone-deaf” kid with little musical skills but verse in his heart. Forming a band with his brothers in 2005 and travelling the world.

Hitting Number One in the US and UK with one production collaborator (The Lumineers’ Cleopatra, 2016), scoring a Mercury Music Prize nomination (Bat For Lashes’ 'The Bride,' 2016) with another, striding into another side of 2018 with yet another (Peace, the Midlands band whose 'Kindness Is The New Rock And Roll' burst forth in spring 2018).

The first single to be taken released from the record is album opener and title track 'The Projector.' Spectral, almost skeletal at first, before the man’s resonant voice and spartan guitar are joined by shiversome choral vocals from Bat For Lashes’ Natasha Khan and haunted folktronica from Four Tet. Felice counts London’s genre-surfing experimentalist as both close friend and neighbour. The track is a hallucinatory walk through the backrooms and hallways of modern human paranoia and tech-induced loneliness, as the warped choir sings: ‘All the while you felt so alone / but all the while there were bugs in the phone and you were not alone.’


A1. The Projector
A2. The Fawn
A3. Hustler
A4. Your Hands
A5. Angel By My Side
B1. Same On Any Corner
B2. To Be You, To Be Me
B3. You Shall Be My Eve
B4. They’d Hang Upon My Every Word
B5. War Movie