My Cart


Steve Cropper

Steve Cropper - Fire It Up (Provogue Records)


RELEASED: 23rd April 2021 (subject to change)

Format:  Black Vinyl LP
Cat No:  0810020503746
Format:  CD
Cat No:  0810020503753

The term "Guitar Hero" is bandied about loosely these days. Seems like all you have to do is look good holding the thing and you qualify. But if you ask the actual guitar heroes (like Brian May, Jeff Beck, and Eric Clapton) who THEIR Guitar Heroes are, Steve Cropper is definitely on the shortlist. If all he had done were the records with Otis Redding that would be enough, but shortly thereafter he was leaving his fingerprints on records by Wilson Pickett, Sam & Dave, Johnny Taylor, Albert King, and virtually anybody worthy who came within earshot of Memphis. He was a Guitarist's Guitarist, and a Songwriter's Songwriter.

Steve Cropper was one of Stax Records main producers, songwriters and guitarist in their house band Booker T. & the M.G.’s. Cropper was also a member of the Blues Brothers band. He has collaborated with some of the biggest names in music, including Otis Redding, Rod Stewart, Ringo Starr, Dolly Parton, John Lennon, Jimmy Buffett, and many more.

"Fire It Up" is Steve Cropper's first album of new Soul/R&B material in 10 years. The album was produced by Steve and Jon Tiven, and will be released worldwide via Mascot Label Group/Provogue.


Side A
1. Bush Hog, Pt. 1
2. Fire It Up
3. One Good Turn
4. I’m Not Havin' It
5. Out of Love
6. Far Away

Side B
1. Say You Don't Know Me
2. She's So Fine
3. Two Wrongs
4. Heartbreak Street
5. The Go-Getter Is Gone
6. Bush Hog, Pt. 2
7. Bush Hog


1. Bush Hog, Pt. 1
2. Fire It Up
3. One Good Turn
4. I’m Not Havin' It
5. Out of Love
6. Far Away
7. Say You Don't Know Me
8. She's So Fine
9. Two Wrongs
10. Heartbreak Street
11. The Go-Getter Is Gone
12. Bush Hog, Pt. 2
13. Bush Hog