My Cart


Strawberry Guy

Strawberry Guy - Taking My Time To Be (Ltd Edition Coloured Vinyl) (Melodic)


RELEASED: 28th January 2022
Limited Edition180g Cream Coloured 12" Vinyl EP

Format:  Limited Edition180g Cream Coloured 12" Vinyl EP
Cat No:  MELO122

Long awaited repress on 180g Heavyweight ‘Cream (No Strawberries)’ coloured 12″ vinyl, includes download code.

When Alex Stephens (A.K.A. Strawberry Guy) self-released his debut single in 2019, he was merely doing it out of a love for song writing. What he wasn’t expecting was a million YouTube streams and an avid fanbase. Now, the South-Wales born, Liverpool-based songwriter is ready to release a full EP of his compelling, lushly produced dream-pop.

The intense emotional feel of the tracks he writes is down to Alex’s song writing process, recording the entire EP in his bedroom & producing it himself. ‘I feel that it’s important to me to only write/record when you’re channelling some kind of emotion, so I would only work on it when I was in the right mood to do so.’ He answers when asked about the isolated environment into which he put himself for the recording process.

Much of the inspiration for Alex’s work comes from experience rather than other artists. ‘When something significant happens to me, all I want to do is make music.’ In terms of musical touchstones however, there’s the obvious dream-pop contemporaries such as Beach House and Weyes Blood, coupled with great songwriters of old like Nat King Cole or Harry Nillson. Sonically, a blend of orchestral & synthesized melodies layer together to act as a platform for his heartfelt lyrics.


1. Without You
2. Mrs Magic
3. Intermission
4. What Would I Do?
5. Birch Tree
6. Taking My Time To Be