My Cart



VA / Soul Jazz Records Present

Studio One: Black Man’s Pride


RELEASED: 3rd November 2017
Double Vinyl LP + Download

Black Man’s Pride’ is the striking new Studio One collection of deep righteous reggae, featuring Horace Andy, Alton Ellis, The Gladiators, Sugar Minott, The Heptones, Freddie McGregor, Cedric Brooks & more.

While the righteousness of blackness is at the heart of the Rastafarian faith, this collection illustrates how black pride remained a central theme, if not the defining essence, at the very core of all the music created at Studio One Records under the direction of Clement ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd.

Many of the songs featured here come from the transitory phase in reggae at the start of the 1970s, after the exhilaration of Ska and following the cooling down of Rocksteady.


1. Alton Ellis - Black Man's Pride
2. Horace Andy - Child Of The Ghetto
3. Dennis Brown - Created By The Father
4. The Gladiators - Roots Natty
5. The Classics - Got To Be Cool
6. The Nightingales - Rasta Is Calling
7. Glen Miller - Love & Understanding
8. Sugar Minott - Woman Shadow
9. Lloyd Jones & The Super Natural Six - Red In A Babylon
10. Dudley Sibley & The Soul Gang - Love In Our Nation
11. The Heptones - Equal Rights
12. Glen Miller - You Must Be Love
13. Winston Jarrett - Up Park No Mans Land
14. Cedric Im Brooks - Why Can’t I
15. Larry Marshall - Let's Make It Up
16. Freddie McGregor - Children Listen To Wise Words
17. John Holt - Build Our Dreams
18. Johnny Osbourne – Forgive Them