My Cart




The Album: 20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (Real People)


RELEASED: 23rd February 2018
Double Vinyl LP

The Bay Area uber-classic Latyrx: The Album – lyricists Lyrics Born and Lateef The Truthspeaker, with production from DJ Shadow, Chief Xcel and Lyrics Born – still stands as a seminal recording. It has gone on to resonate with successive generations of listeners, and influence countless artists.

Recorded over a two-year period, it was the first full-length release from the legendary Solesides collective, and encapsulates a highly creative and influential time in hip-hop, frequently dubbed The Golden Age. Over the course of the original release’s 42 minutes, not only can you hear Lyrics Born and Lateef literally growing into themselves as artists, but you can also hear the germination of the Solesides sound, first given birth at California’s UC Davis in the early ‘90s, driven by brothers-in-beats-and-rhymes Blackalicious and DJ Shadow. 

This deluxe, 2-LP issue of Latyrx: The Album is a must for longtime fans and newly-initiated listeners alike, with in-depth liner notes by veteran Bay Area journalist Eric Arnold (including input from Lyrics Born and Lateef The Truthspeaker) and packaged in a gatefold format.


A1. Latyrx
A2. Say That
A3. The Quickening
B1. Balcony Beach
B2. Live 90.3 '94
B3. Aim For The Flickering Flame Rankin #1
B4. Funky Granules •
B5. Bad News
C1. Off (With) Their Heads (Be Prompt)
C2. Interlude
C3. Burnt Pride
C4. Scratchapella
C5. The Wreckoning
C6. Burning Hot In Cali On A Saturday Night
D1. Looking Over A City
D2. Last Trumpet (feat. The Gift Of Gab)