My Cart



Tom Waits

The Heart Of Saturday Night (Anti/Epitaph)

Sold Out

RELEASED: 18th May 2018
180g Vinyl LP

What Waits does is create a theater of the mind, a cabaret lounge with a much more surreal take on those traditions. “ - Greg Kot Rolling Stone/Chicago Tribune Writer

 Expanding beyond the folk and pop stylings of his first album, “Heart of Saturday Night,“ Waits’ second studio release, established his reputation as a versatile and distinctly American songwriter. Its bluesy jazz arrangements featured bass, drums, sax and Waits on piano. The title track, a melancholy ode to Saturday night rituals, and the tenderly romantic hymn-like “San Diego Serenade” are enduring classics covered by an array of artists from Diana Krall and Nancy Griffith to folk hero Eric Anderson. The album also features the first of what would become a signature for Waits’, the spoken word-poetry song, “Diamonds on My Windshield”. Waits’ delivers these lyrics as pure beat jazz in the stylings of Kerouac , Langston Hughes and Bob Kaufman.


  1. New Coat Of Paint 
  2. San Diego Serenade 
  3. Semi Suite 
  4. Shiver Me Timbers 
  5. Diamonds On My Windshield 
  6. (Looking For) The Heart Of Saturday Night 
  7. Fumblin' With The Blues 
  8. Please Call Me, Baby 
  9. Depot, Depot 
  10. Drunk On The Moon 
  11. The Ghosts Of Saturday Night (After Hours At Napoleone's Pizza House)