My Cart


Hello Skinny

Hello Skinny - Watermelon Sun (Brownswood Recordings)


RELEASED: 1st December 2017
Double Vinyl LP

Format:  Double Vinyl LP
Cat No:  BWOOD0173LP

The second Hello Skinny album, Watermelon Sun conjures images of the languorous, dreamy escapism its title suggests. Channelling influences including UK jazz, New Jersey house and Chicago footwork, it’s the melodies – played on trombone, tenor sax and the keys – which are the bright-shining, consistent thread throughout. The solo project of esteemed drummer Tom Skinner (whose other recent projects include Sons of Kemet and Owiny Sigoma Band), the album features influential trombone player and composer Peter Zummo (a friend and collaborator of Arthur Russell, who’s recently released new material on Glasgow’s Optimo label)


A1. Prelude
A2. Watermelon Sun
B1. Mr. P.Z.
B2. Signs
C1. Bluebells
C2. Rashad
D1. iDeath
D2. Coda