My Cart


Charles Mingus with Danny Richmond & Hampton Hawes

Charles Mingus with Danny Richmond & Hampton Hawes - Mingus Three (PLG UK Catalogue)


RELEASED: 22nd April 2022
2 x 180g Black Vinyl LP

Format:  2 x 180g Black Vinyl (Remastered)
Cat No:  0603497841059

The greatest bassist leader jazz has ever known, Charles Mingus, with his spirited playing and spontaneity, always kept his ears and fingers on the pulse. “Mingus was something else, man,” Miles Davis wrote in his own book. “A pure genius, I loved him.”

This year marks the birth centenary of Charles Mingus, whose musical legacy is still ongoing. From artists like Kamasi Washington bringing him to a new generation, Chrissie Hynde, whose latest album includes a Mingus cover, Candace Springs, Elvis Costello, to Gang Starr sampling him, and Joni Mitchell writing lyrics to his music.

Originally released in 1957 on the Jubilee label, Mingus Three is one of only two albums led by Mingus in a trio setting, featuring pianist Hampton Hawes and drummer Danny Richmond. This remastered release includes a whole extra disc of previously unreleased outtakes, discovered by chance, from these sessions, as well as liner notes by Charles Mingus’ friend and colleague Sy Johnson.


Side A:
1. Yesterdays
2. Back Home Blues
3. I Can’t Get Started
4. Hamp’s New Blues

Side B:
1. Summertime
2. Dizzy Moods
3. Laura

Disc 2: The Outtakes

Side A:
1. Untitled Blues
2. Untitled Blues – Take 2
3. Back Home Blues
4. Hamp’s New Blues - Take 4

Side B:
1. I Can’t Get Started - Take 1
2. Yesterdays – Take 2 – Incomplete
3. Dizzy Moods – Take 2
4. Summertime – Take 3