My Cart



Bibio - Hand Cranked (Warp)


RELEASED: 13th November 2020
Black Vinyl LP

Format:  Black Vinyl LP
Cat No:  WARPLP289

One of Bibio’s earliest works is well suited for a reissue. ‘Hand Cranked’, his second release, saw him delve further into the sounds he crafted on his debut, ‘Fi’, with a focus  on saturated guitars, found sound and field recordings and an affinity for the pastoral inspiration of his Northern England surroundings.
‘Hand Cranked’ stepped it up a level though, bringing in Bibio’s unique take on folk and blending it with electronic loops; a sound that he would continue to help refine throughout his career.
This fourteen track collection saw Bibio bring an increased confidence to his music, highlighting his virtuosic guitar playing and shedding light on his more whimsical pop inclinations that he’s explored on releases since then.
Available on vinyl for the first time since its original release over 10 years ago, ‘Hand Cranked’ makes for a perfect lazy Sunday listening, a nostalgic drive through the country or simply a peak into an artist beginning to discover the full breadth of his talent.


01. The Cranking House
02. Cherry Go Round
03. Quantock
04. Black Country Blue
05. Marram
06. Aberriw
07. Zoopraxiphone
08. Dyfi
09. Ffwrnais
10. Woodington
11. Above The Rooftops
12. Snowbow
13. Maroon Lagoon
14. Overgrown