My Cart


Songhoy Blues

Songhoy Blues - Optimisme (Transgressive)


RELEASED: 23rd October 2020
Heavyweight Gold Colour Vinyl LP

Format: Heavyweight Gold Colour Vinyl LP
Cat No: TRANS469X

Sons of Mali; groundbreaking artists; refugees; virtuosos; survivors; rock stars. Unforgettable and undeniable, Songhoy Blues represent the future of African rock & roll and present here the release of their third album, ‘Optimisme’, out on Transgressive Records.
This 11-song, multilingual album marks a real musical breakthrough. Musically harder, steeped in deep traditions of classic Malian music and desert blues and fused with an urgent and super-charged sound of now, the album was produced by Matt Sweeney of beloved indie rockers Chavez - who has worked with a host of celebrated artists including Johnny Cash, Run the Jewels, El-P, Cat Power and Will Oldham - and recorded and mixed by Daniel Schlett (The War on Drugs, Modest Mouse, Ghostface Killah) in Brooklyn, NY.
This first LP pressing is on heavyweight gold vinyl and is housed inside a gatefold sleeve with digital download code.


1. Badala
2. Assadja
3. Fey Fey
4. Gabi
5. Barre
6. Pour Toi
7. Bon Bon
8. Worry
9. Korfo
10. Dournia
11. Kouma