My Cart


Various Artists

Various Artists - KALEIDOSCOPE - New Spirits Known and Unknown (CD) (Soul Jazz Records)

£10.99 £12.49

RELEASED: 24th July 2020
2 CD

Format:  CD
Cat No:  SJR CD455

(Check out our Vinyl section for vinyl version of this release)

Soul Jazz Records’ new album ‘Kaleidoscope – New Spirits Known and Unknown’ brings together many of the groundbreaking artists involved in the new jazz scene that has developed in the UK over the last few years.
Featured artists include Matthew Halsall, Yazmin Lacey, Ill Considered, Tenderlonious, Theon Cross, Emma-Jean Thackray and many, many more in this ground-breaking release.
As well as sharing a pioneering spirit in these new artists’ approach to frontier-crossing musical boundaries, a further theme of this album is that many also share a determination to independent practices – and most of these artists’ recordings featured here are either self-published or released on independent labels. While the attention of this new wave of jazz artists up until now has been London-based, this album shows how this movement is spread across the whole of Britain (and indeed beyond).
‘Kaleidoscope – New Spirits Known and Unknown’ shows that while there is commonality in these artists’ approach to music, there is a wide variety of styles – from deep spiritual jazz, electronic experimentalisation, punk-edged funk, uplifting modal righteousness, deep soulful vocals and much more.
(Soul Jazz records are also releasing an exclusive one-off pressing double-headed 12” single featuring Theon Cross and Pokus released on the same day as the ‘Kaleidoscope’ album).


Disc: 1
1. When the World Was One - Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra
2. 90 Degrees - Yazmin Lacey
3. Communication Control - Hector Plimmer
4. Long Way Home - Ill Considered
5. Mosaic - The Expansions
6. Red Planet - Chip Wickham
7. Odyssey - Levitation Orchestra
8. Walrus - Emma-Jean Thackray
9. The Shakedown - Tenderlonious and the 22archestra
10. Pokus One - Pokus

Disc: 2
1. Candace of Meroe - Theon Cross
2. Tanner's Tango (Feat. Nubya Garcia) - Joe Armon-Jones & Maxwell Owin
3. Gozo - Collocutor
4. Untitled - Makaya McCraven
5. Ancient World - Nat Birchall
6. Moonlight Woman - Ruby Rushton
7. Dimmsdale - Ebi Soda
8. Thunder Perfect - The Cromagnon Band
9. Mirrors - SEED Ensemble
10. Kito's Theme - Ishmael Ensemble
11. Yellow Ochre (Part 1) - Vels Trio