My Cart


Gerard Wilson

Gerald Wilson - Moment Of Truth (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) (Blue Note)


RELEASED: 3/06/2022
180g Vinyl LP (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

Format:  180g Vinyl LP (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)
Cat No:  B0033487-01

In the early 1960s, the great composer, arranger, and bandleader Gerald Wilson began recording a series of spectacular albums for Pacific Jazz that stand as the most significant of his lengthy career.

The second of those albums, 1962’s Moment of Truth, features Wilson’s dynamic big band on an action-packed nine-song set (seven of which were composed by Wilson) with highlights including the swaggering blues of the title track, the irrepressible Latin groove of “Viva Tirado,” and a fleet-footed version of “Milestones” by Miles Davis.

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analogue master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket.


A1. Viva Tirado
A2. Moment Of Truth
A3. Patterns
A4. Teri
A5. Nancy Jo
B1. Milestones
B2. Latino
B3. Jose Fina
B4. Emerge